WSET Level 4 Diploma in Wines and Spirits  

Worldwide recognized as the leading qualification for experts in wines and spirits, the WSET Level 4 Diploma in Wines and Spirits is a specialist qualification where detailed product knowledge is combined with commercial factors and a thorough system for the professional evaluation of wines and spirits. The WSET Diploma is also universally viewed as the stepping-stone to the Master of Wine qualification.

 

The program

It is comprised of 6 units of study, each designed to build expertise in a particular area.

Unit 1 – The global business of alcoholic beverages
Unit 2 – Wine production
Unit 3 – Light wines of the world
Unit 4 – Spirits of the world
Unit 5 – Sparkling wines of the world
Unit 6 – Fortified wines of the world

Units 1 and 2 are considered as Preparatory Units and must be studied at the beginning of a Diploma programme because they provide the knowledge and understanding required to complete the assessments in the product-knowledge units (Units 3, 4, 5, 6).

Download “Qualification structure and unit assessment”

How to prepare?

WSET Level 4 Diploma is a combination of both, taught classes and personal learning. The 120 hours of taught classes must be associated with a minimum of 600 hours of personal study. Also it is highly recommended that student take the optional feedback tests proposed along the course as it is the best way to understand the examination’s expectations.

Detailed information on the elements to learn can be found in WSET Diploma Specifications Also it is strongly recommended that candidates read the Candidate Assessment Guide (Theory & Tasting) for the detailed requirements for all assessments.

Entry requirements

Candidates applying to sit any part of the Diploma assessment must be minimum 18 years old and hold the WSET Level 3 Award in Wines (& Spirits) Certificate. If you don’t hold such certificate you are required to contact us to discuss your eligibility. In addition, fluency in written English is required in order to succeed in any Diploma assessment.

Diploma Graduates

Upon successfully passing the WSET Diploma, candidates are entitled to use the letters DipWSET after their name, giving them the recognition they deserve. Graduates are also able to join WSET’s Alumni Body, which offers access to specialised content and networking events designed to support continued learning.

Course information

COMING SESSIONS

Unit U3. : November to May 2019
(Exam U3 – 13th June 2019)  

Unit 6: April 15th to 16th 2019 
(Exam U6 – 12th June 2019) 

Entry Seminar D1: September 16th to 19th 2019 
(Exam D1 – November 28th 2019)

WHY STUDING WITH US

Our teachers
Field educational visits
Our unique location & venue
Our wines and spirits selection
Become part of our experts community

MORE INFORMATIONS

This course takes place at Millésima :
87 quai de paludate, 
33050 Bordeaux

salle

WSET Niveau 4 Diplôme en Vins et Spiritueux  

 

Le WSET niveau 4 Diploma en vins et spiritueux est reconnu internationalement comme la plus importante formation pour les professionnels de la filière vins et spiritueux. Il s’agit d’une spécialisation au plus haut niveau dans lequel la Connaissance Produit est associée à des facteurs commerciaux et à l’analyse professionnelle des vins et spiritueux. Le Diploma est également reconnu dans le monde entier comme la porte d’entrée du prestigieux programme du Master of Wine.

 

Le programme

Cette formation est proposée exclusivement en langue anglaise.

Le programme se compose de 6 unités indépendantes. Chacune représentant une spécialité dans un domaine particulier.

Unité 1 – Le marché global des boissons alcoolisées
Unité 2 – La production de vin
Unité 3 – Les vins (tranquilles) du monde
Unité 4 – Les spiritueux du monde
Unité 5 – Les vins effervescents du monde
Unité 6 – Les vins fortifiés du monde

 

Les Unités 1 et 2 sont considérées comme des « Unités Préparatoires » et doivent être passées au début du programme car elles fournissent les connaissances nécessaires à l’analyse des produits couverts dans les « Unités Connaissance Produit » (Unités 3, 4, 5, 6).

Télécharger « Qualification structure and unit assessment »

 

La formation

Le WSET niveau 4 Diploma en vins et spiritueux se compose d’une partie de formation en classe mais également d’une partie importante de travail personnel. Les 120 heures de cours doivent être associées à un minimum de 600h de travail personnel. Cette durée minimum sera allongée en fonction des connaissances de chacun. Il est également fortement recommandé de passer tous les tests optionnels qui seront proposés au long de la formation afin de mieux cerner les attentes aux différentes épreuves.

Des informations plus détaillées concernant l’organisation et le contenu de la formation sont présentées dans le WSET Diploma Specifications.  Il est aussi fortement recommandé de lire attentivement le Guide pour le Candidat à l’examen théorique et le Guide pour le Candidat à l’examen de dégustation

 

Conditions d’entrée

Les candidats au WSET niveau 4 Diploma en vins et spiritueux doivent avoir plus de 18 ans et avoir obtenu le Certificat du WSET niveau 3 en vins (et spiritueux). Si vous n’avez pas ce Certificat vous pouvez nous contacter afin d’étudier une éventuelle équivalence. De plus un niveau d’anglais fluide écrit et parlé est absolument nécessaire à la réussite des examens du Diploma.

 

Les diplômés du Diploma

Lorsqu’ils ont obtenu leur Diplôme après avoir réussi toutes les Unités, les diplômés sont autorisés à apposer la mention DipWSET après leur nom. Cette mention confère une reconnaissance de la part de la filière. Les diplômés sont aussi conviés à se joindre au groupe des WSET’s Alumni qui donne accès à des contenus spécialisés et des évènements de professionnels afin d’encourager le réseau et l’apprentissage continu.

 

Information sur le programme

 

PROCHAINES SESSIONS 

Unit 5-6: 14 au 16 septembre 2018
(Exam U5 & U6 – 7 novembre 2018)

Unit 1-2: 1er au 4 octobre 2018 
(Exam U2 -22/11/18; Exam U1 12/06/18)

Unit 4.  : 12 au 14 janvier 2019
(Exam U4 mars 2019)

 Unit 3.  : novembre à mai 2019
(Exam U3 juin 2019)

POURQUOI ETUDIER AVEC NOUS

Notre équipe de formateurs
Programme de visites de domaines
Notre emplacement unique au coeur de Bordeaux
Notre sélection rigoureuse de vins et spiritueux
Devenir membre de notre communauté d’experts

INFORMATIONS PRATIQUES 

Cette formation se déroule à Millésima:
87 quai de paludate,
33050 Bordeaux

salle